There’s Plenty of Fish-on the Internet

I sat in apprehension.  This was finally it.

I watched impatiently as the little pencil danced across my MSN chat window.

It stopped.

“Enter.  Press enter. Come ON.  You can do it. Enteeerrrrr. Press it, presssss ittttt,” I whined to my desktop computer.

The pencil began to scribble again.

“Seriously? Are you rewriting the entire Harry Potter series?”

It stopped again.

Okay, J.K. Rowling, you’re not winning the Author of the Year Award for this.

Finally, after minutes of anguish, there it was written in bold font.

It was simple, yet moving.

 “Liz, do you want to be my girlfriend?”

There it was, exposed on the computer screen: My first experience with courting-online.

Technology has changed the way we pursue, and date in real life.

I’m not the Internet’s biggest fan, especially when it comes to wooing a potential mate online.

Our profile pages present the best version of ourselves.  We we want to appear more desirable for potential suitors.  For instance:

We untag pictures of ourselves that we don’t like.

We put as much or as little thought into our bios.

We choose what profile pictures show up on a friend’s News Feed.

We decide what to tweet out, or save for a private inbox message.

I’ve been asked out over Facebook.  And I admit, I’ve done my share of flirting online.  But the person on the other end of the Internet didn’t know that:

I hadn’t showered in days.

I was wearing my fuzzy pink pjs.

I had an army full of zits all over my face.

And I was stuffing a jar of peanut butter into my mouth.

Nope, the only thing they saw was my profile picture-which underwent extreme measures of photoshop.

I was also courted over text message.  The texts consisted of abbreviations, exclamation marks, and emoticons- gr8.

But whenever we saw each other in “real life”, we didn’t know what to say.  So we continued to text- across the table from one another.  I felt safe behind my Blackberry screen.  And he did too-or maybe he just preferred my profile picture on BBM, as opposed to what I looked like in everyday life.

The Internet has altered our perception of courting.  No, I won’t call you back if you like my status.  I won’t reply if you mention me in a tweet.  And an inbox message has nothing on an old fashioned note-I don’t care if you’re Mark Zuckerberg himself.

However, we’re living in the twenty-first century. My life can’t be like the Notebook-and 365 handwritten letters from Ryan Gosling isn’t feasible, or time efficient.

The stigma of meeting, flirting, courting, and dating someone online has changed.  Now, we have new rules to abide by, sorry Ryan.

DSC08185

Today, many people have turned to online dating sites, as we don’t have the time or maybe- the desire to meet people the old fashioned way.

There are many successful relationships that have sprouted with a Facebook inbox, or an online dating account.

Back when Facebook was in its beginning stages, my best friend’s sister searched a guy she had met on a pub crawl.  She initiated the infamous inbox message.  Now, they’re happily married with a daughter, and another baby on the way.

My friend’s sister met her boyfriend online.  She brought him home for Christmas this year. He engaged in conversation, drank water, and inhaled oxygen like any normal person would.  He was sweet, sincere, and wasn’t an axe murderer. I approved.

I have another friend who is engaged to a guy she met online over a year ago.

Maybe love can find its way to a chat room or Twitter feed.

Maybe we have to realize that things evolve- even dating.  We just need to adapt to it.

However, if things don’t work out we can always shut off our laptops, or delete a contact altogether-and buy a hundred dollars worth of stamps at Canada Post.

About lizzzfraser

I love writing stories-lots of stories.
This entry was posted in Daily Thangs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There’s Plenty of Fish-on the Internet

  1. Annie says:

    I like this post. You are such a talented writer. 🙂

  2. Hey it worked for me! 🙂

  3. You’re ma girl Blue!

Leave a Reply

