We Are Never Getting Back Together. Like-Maybe?

copy3

I used to make fun of people who cried over breakups.  This isn’t 500 Days of Summer.  Suck it up, you’re going to be okay.

I was wrong.

When I was dumped, I felt like I was canoeing through a Tsunami.

I learned that in the midst of a breakup, it seems as though you will never “be okay” again.

Breakups happen.  Eventually we get over them, it just takes time.  It can take five years, five months, or five seconds.  And we all handle them differently.

copy 1

Some people get dramatic. One of my best friends stood on a hill, and smashed a bunch of Jones bottles- a gift from her ex, during a thunderstorm.

Some people get the family involved. My classmate broke up with her ex-boyfriend and he came to her house the next day with a Mother’s Day present.

Some people try to become friends-                                            .

Some people go MIA.  My roommate deleted Facebook so she wouldn’t check her ex’s profile every twenty minutes.  However, she gets close friends to monitor his wall.

Some people feel relieved.  After my friend and his girlfriend broke up, he cooked a steak dinner.  Then, he went to a local bar with his friends and partied.

Some people just don’t get the hint at all. My friend tried to get back with his ex-girlfriend for a year.  He called, texted, and drove to her house to patch things up.  During his trip to Switzerland, he also picked her a flower on the side of a mountain.

Some people work those Lacrimal glands. I skipped school to lay in bed and listen to Celine Dion’s All by Myself.  My dad wouldn’t let me drive the car until I could separate myself from the box of Kleenex.

However, there are benefits to breakups.  It’s a great way to keep in contact with friends who live far away. I had friends call and Skype every half hour to make sure I didn’t jump off a brick building. You’re also showered with free things.  My friends baked brownies, sent care packages, and bought me coffee for weeks.

copy2

The next time you lose a loved one, don’t worry.  You’re going to be okay.  There are plenty of fish in the sea-even after a Tsunami hits.

About lizzzfraser

I love writing stories-lots of stories.
This entry was posted in Daily Thangs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Are Never Getting Back Together. Like-Maybe?

  1. Wendy says:

    Yes, you may get over the breakup but you may still think about the “what if ?” years later. if you are one of those people who reframes everything “don’t cry because it’s over; be happy because it happened”, you heal because you took that stance. Time really helps.

Leave a Reply

