I’m Thankful for Bad Days

My week sucked.  When I told people it was good, I lied.  Sorry, I know better.  In all honesty, I was ready to blow up like Yellowstone’s Old Faithful.  Niagara Falls was about to spill all over my face.  I considered building a catapult, so I could launch myself into the Earth’s orbit and never return-and that’s when things were starting to look up.  I would say that I was a mixture of both Eeyore from Winnie the Pooh, and Shreeky from Care Bears.  Talented, I know.  On the outside, I attempted to mimic a Julia Roberts-like grin.  But in my head, I was still designing my catapult.

 Despite the Shakespearian drama, known as my life, this week eventually turned around.  My  “October Crisis” couldn’t have happened at a better time.  I often take everything for granted.  However there are many things to be thankful for, especially this week.

  1. Toothpaste: Mood swings are reversible-cavities are not.
  2. Roommates: They justify dessert before dinner, and pack your lunches.
  3. One Direction: Those guys make you want to have a dance party in any condition.
  4. Moms: They bake you blueberry muffins when you’re in a bad mood.
  5. Dads: They buy you Cosmos when you’re in a bad mood.
  6. A helping hand: Let’s face it, some people are just better at-everything.
  7. Friends: They drop everything they’re doing, and listen to you for hours.
  8. New friendships: Another person to add to your list of friends on Facebook-kidding.  It’s cool to see how different people are plopped into your life. 
  9. Coffee: It gives you something to do other than just study.

10. The word “venti”: It sounds so much classier than “a large”.

11. Mittens: It apparently snows in Manitoba during October.

12. Straighteners: They fix your hair when the weather gets at it.

13.  Camping: It reminds you of how privileged you are to have shower facilities.

14. Lulu Lemon pants: They do wonders for your rear.

15. Speakerphones: They allow you to talk on your cell phone while driving.

16.  Peter Mansbridge: His ties are immaculate.

17. Crummy moods: They remind you of how good you have it.

18. Oceans: They don’t have any of those over here.

19. Bussing: It makes for an interesting adventure to school everyday.

20.  Islands: Nice people always come from islands.

 Sometimes life throws you curve balls, but things aren’t always as bad as they seem.  And if they are- I’m sure it’s not that hard to build a catapult.  Happy Thanksgiving, there is so much to be thankful for.

About lizzzfraser

I love writing stories-lots of stories.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Thankful for Bad Days

  1. sarashyiak says:

    Love it! A great post on appreciating the small things. An lulu lemons not only do wonders for your rear but are crazy comfy!

  2. Cathy says:

    Great list! Makes me think we need Thanksgiving more than once a year!

  3. Wendy says:

    The term, “Chalk it up to experience”, is annoying when you are having the bad experience but it is so true. You are developing a base with which to deal with other less than happy experiences that make you want to catapult into outer space. I feel your pain.

Leave a Reply

