I <3 U…Even Though you don’t Have a Brain

I’m in a serious relationship with my cell phone. It’s the first thing I see when I wake up.  And it’s the last thing I see before I go to bed.  Sometimes, I even sleep with my cell phone.  We go to school together.   We go out at night.  We’ve gone on dates.  We fight when it’s being completely irrational.  Yes, it makes me angry and it makes me cry. But when it listens, we’re really good together.  I even said the “L” word a time or two. I want to spend the rest of my life with it.  It makes me happy.  It’s loyal and always returns my calls. I couldn’t imagine life without-my cell phone.

There is nothing more satisfying than a blinking light on your phone, or the sound of a text message alert. However, there is nothing more irritating than someone who is captivated by a cell phone, as you struggle to keep their attention. Maybe you’ve done it.  If you grew up in the twenty first century, than chances are you have.

I must admit, I often cave into the seduction of my cell phone.  I’m addicted.  If there was a Texters Anonymous-well I wouldn’t be that anonymous. I’m on my cell phone twenty-four-seven.   I text in class, in the car, in the shower, at the gym, and yes- in the movie theatre.  I check it thirty seconds after the first time I checked it.  I don’t know why, it’s the same story- no new messages.  But my cell phone has a hold on me that I can’t resist.  Cell phones can destroy and alter the relationships around us.  I know what you’re going to say, but before you tell me that we’re more connected than ever-hear me out.

We’re less personable than we used to be.  If we want to tell someone we care about them, we send them an “I ❤ u” in a txt.  If we’re angry with someone we send them an “I h8 u” in a txt.  If we want to tell someone we think they’re funny, we send them a “lol, or a rofl” in a txt. But of course, we would never say or express such emotion in “real life.”  What ever happened to real life communication? Oh right, we’re all in committed relationships with-a piece of plastic.

This all began when my roommate and I were avidly texting, yes texting at the dinner table.  She was texting her friend and I was texting anyone that would respond.  There was a lot of dialogue, but it was not at the dinner table-it was within our technologies.  Her mom, who was also at the table, said she felt ignored.  And she’s right.

Cell phones- a spectacular invention, but a terrible replacement for people.  Sure, they may have a few billion apps, a playlist, Google and quirky messages from that cute girl in Economics- but they cannot replace real life human interaction.  They don’t feel anything, they’re not affectionate, they don’t think, they can’t give advice and they have no emotion.  Societies across the globe are in awe over the intricate wiring of these devices.  But we often forget our own intricate wiring as people.  The majority of society is in a devoted relationship with their iPhones, BlackBerries, or Smartphones.  We love them.  However, we should not be treated as sloppy seconds to these devices.

About lizzzfraser

I love writing stories-lots of stories.
This entry was posted in Daily Thangs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I <3 U…Even Though you don’t Have a Brain

  1. staticdynamicphotography says:

    I love this! We’ve all had that moment when you’re texting your friend and they’re sitting right beside you. It’s just plain wrong!

    I just read the book “Disconnect” by Devra Davis (which I can’t say was any good), about cell phone radiation and I STILL can’t put my phone down.

    Did you check out The Projector’s article about texting in class? http://theprojector.ca/stories/view/hold-the-phones

  2. Meghan says:

    The split second I feel the onset of boredom coming on I reach for my cell phone and text, surf, play a game – heck fiddling with the phone settings is better than sitting in silence in the doctor’s office or waiting in line somewhere! I can’t even remember what I did to pass the time at the doctor’s office or waiting in line before my smart phone…

Leave a Reply

